Sleep – as it relates to being

In rebellion against the chains of homework and organized learning, I am posting to consume the last remaining energies of my brain before slipping into that sweet oblivion that is sleep.

Hmm…now that I said that, I really am uncertain what else to say.  Today was a busy day for me.  It was basically go go go until after dinner.  And if I wasn’t going, I had my time scheduled.  Nevertheless, God was able to break through my neatly laid out day and use me.  I love it when He does that  🙂  And the strangest thing is that today, it happened exactly when I didn’t plan for it to.  It just happened.

Today is one of those days where I finally comprehend why Gina and Audra say that sleep is such a waste of time.  Truly, it is – we spend roughly one third of our lives in this semi-/unconscious state that does not seem to be very productive.  If I didn’t have to sleep tonight, I would get all of my reading done, plan Bible study, read a book completely unrelated to school, facebook people I haven’t talked to in ages, figure out how to better love others, pray, read my Bible, worship…I could do so many things!  If only it were possible to have an IV drip of coffee…intravenous caffeine.  Mmmm.  Liquid energy.  I’ll need some more of that in the morning.

But this brings up the whole question of what I am – am I a human doing or a human being?  Why the drive to always do so many things?  Are we not created in a finite fashion for a reason?  Because we cannot and should not try to do it all?  If only I could really learn that.  In order to learn to be, I have to recognize the necessity of rest and sleep.  I will do so shortly.

About rd734467

I am a seeker. A doer. An encourager. One who loves. One who longs to be loved. One who desperately yearns to make a difference in this world.
This entry was posted in Limping After Christ and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sleep – as it relates to being

  1. Allison Ellsworth says:

    That’s something that God has really been bringing up in me too. As an unemployed person who is not in school, you can see how these feelings of uselessness and purposelessness come up. But I’m beginning to see that who I am and who I am becoming is much more important than what I am doing at the moment. I thought I was a Mary, but the more I learn about myself I tend to be Martha more than I think I do. It’s hard to be a Mary because it’s so rare! But so worth it.

    Have a good day 🙂

Leave a Reply

