My Day

Another exercise in discipline for Rachel.  She only has eight (now seven!) minutes to complete a post for today, October 13 (in her mind, the previous post was for the 12th…the one before that was for the 11th…she just took a while to get her thoughts together).

Is my posting every day, these random thoughts and ideas, even worth it?  For instance, is this post, a random conglomeration of ideas and/or words actually worth the time it takes me to type it and you to read it?  Probably not.  So I should figure out something useful or profound to say…

I met with Ken Brewer this afternoon to discuss grad school.  We actually talked more about my past, and his, than we did about the future.  I outlined the difficulties of my summer to elucidate why I am averse to the idea of graduate school, and Ken told me a bit of his story.  His experiences normalized mine, and his advice – more or less, keep lines of communication with God open and be real with Him – was reliable.  If only we had talked about this during the summer, perhaps I would have avoided the heartache and struggle I endured.  Yet, after talking with Ken, I know now that enduring the struggle, though painful, has left me more mature, further along the path of faith than I would be if I had avoided it all.

I persevered through desolation.  Consolation must be on the horizon.

And I fail at posting before midnight.  Sigh.  Tomorrow, tomorrow, there’s always tomorrow…

About rd734467

I am a seeker. A doer. An encourager. One who loves. One who longs to be loved. One who desperately yearns to make a difference in this world.
This entry was posted in Limping After Christ and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

