Drought in Kenya

Today I received an email about a drought that is currently decimating Kenya – the worst drought in ten years.  Because of droughts in recent years, Kenya does not have stores of resources (like food) to turn to during this tragedy, and people are starving.  This caught my attention…actually, to be completely honest, the fact that only $17 can feed a family for three months is what caught my attention.  The organization, Mocha Club, had posted information about the drought, so I briefly read through it and decided to donate.  I am not writing about this to brag – I simply could not justify keeping $17 that I do not need right now to survive while people in Africa are starving.  So I donated.  Easy as that.

After donating, I looked at some other projects Mocha Club is promoting, and in glancing over the five or six brief descriptions, my eyes settled on one about clean water for refugees of Darfur, currently residing in Sudan.  It only takes one US dollar to provide one refugee with clean water.

For an entire year.

One dollar.

@$%^&#$*?!?!?!?!?!

What. The. CRAP.  If it only takes one dollar to provide clean water for a year, what the hell are we doing?  Why doesn’t every African, no, every person on the face of this planet have access to clean water?

What are Christians thinking?  What are world leaders thinking?  What am I thinking?  Why AREN’T we thinking?!?!?!  Aren’t lives more important than that new pair of shoes, than going out to eat on Sunday, than buying that five dollar Starbucks coffee?!?!   Oh….if we would just STOP thinking about ourselves and our own desires for just a little while, give up some of our creature comforts, we could make such a difference in this world.  So let’s do it.

God help me.  Help me channel my indignation and frustration to positive ends.  Help me stop accusing and help me begin something positive.  And God, please help Your Church learn to do what is right.

Link to Mocha Club’s emergency relief needs:

https://www.mochaclub.org/emergency-needs

About rd734467

I am a seeker. A doer. An encourager. One who loves. One who longs to be loved. One who desperately yearns to make a difference in this world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Drought in Kenya

  1. ghettoblackify says:

    wow.. that’s sad

  2. Ashley says:

    Really?? One dollar? For an entire YEAR? OK…I need to donate to this too. That’s crazy! I don’t understand why there still is lack of water in these countries if that’s all it takes…

Leave a Reply

