Traditions

I love this time of year.

For whatever reason, this Christmas season I have been acutely more aware and appreciative everything I love about this season.  The wind whipping around me and weaseling its way down the slightest crevices and open spaces between my coat and my body…love it!  I love that I have to wear a coat and a scarf to keep warm.  I don’t know why, I simply adore this.  I love (yet, am slightly annoyed) that I will soon need to trade in many of my shoes for more watertight and cold-resistance pairs.  I love listening to Christmas music THE DAY OF Thanksgiving, and having a month to incessantly play it in my dorm room, on my laptop, and in my car.  I adore decorating my house and my dorm room – setting up and decorating Christmas trees, hanging lights, placing the random Christmas paraphernalia throughout the house.  I love watching all the cheesy Christmas movies with my family.  I just love spending quality time with my family – playing games, watching movies, doing holiday things.  At no other time of the year do I get to spend so much time with friends and family I love.  I love Christmas traditions – the Christian ones, and many of the commercial ones.

I love Christmas.  But, to me, it seems for all the wrong reasons.

About rd734467

I am a seeker. A doer. An encourager. One who loves. One who longs to be loved. One who desperately yearns to make a difference in this world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Traditions

  1. Ashley says:

    I wish I could love the Christmas season at all. I once did…and I suppose I still like some parts of it. But for me, Christmas brings tears and a lot of dread. I hated it this year, I hated it even more last year… I think the first year that I might actually love it again may not come until I’m married, or have children of my own.

Leave a Reply

