Critique and Motion

The Church.

Western Christianity.

Contemporary Christendom.

Synonymous terms, in some people’s minds.  But the Church is so much bigger than our Western way of doing Christianity, so much humbler and servant minded than an empire of the cross.

I am starting to write a paper – “Critical Assessment of Contemporary Christendom in Light of the Reformation.”  This is it’s title on the syllabus.  I have outlined my paper, finished my opening paragraph, and am about to dive headlong into my critique of the Church as I know it today.  This, both an academic and spiritual exercise, gives me an uneasy feeling.  I cringe inwardly…not because I have a heavy blow to give to the Western Church (I do), but because I know how useless critiquing the Western Church is when I make no effort to change it.  In principle, if I am going to critique the Church, I am going to take responsibility for making it better.

I am obligated to improve myself, draw closer in my walk with God, and help others to do the same.

I am obligated to love others outside of the Church and serve them to the best of my ability.

I am obligated to give God my all, even when I do not want to.

In order to prevent the ideas I write in this paper from eating away at my insides, at my very soul, I will have to act.  So act I shall, as the Spirit moves me.  God, I am Yours.  Show me the way.

About rd734467

I am a seeker. A doer. An encourager. One who loves. One who longs to be loved. One who desperately yearns to make a difference in this world.
This entry was posted in Limping After Christ, Theological Reflections and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

