Complicated Christianity

We as humans are very dense.  It seems to me that throughout our lives, throughout history and the records we have of it, God is continually trying to pound into our brains the same simple messages.

I AM God.

I am holy.

Do not follow anything or anyone else!

I am with you.

Follow my commands and decrees.  If you do not, life will go badly for you!

And even if you do, people may oppress you, take advantage of you, kill you.

But stay faithful to Me no matter what.

This is about Me, not you.

We make our lives so complicated, so full, so distracting that we forget these fundamental truths, are not able to see how God is moving in our lives, in the world around us.  What if we actually took God’s commands seriously instead of rationalizing our way around them?  I do this all the time.  What if I truly loved God more than anything else in my life?  What if I was enraptured by Him instead of obsessed with the things of the world?  What if I were to love God more than I love getting good grades, more than the approval of man, more than my own self-fulfillment, more than my own comfort?  What would that look like?  Could I live the same life I am living now?  I could not.  I would, of necessity, change.

I want to do this.  I want to fall into God with everything I am.  I will.  And I will take as many people with me as possible!

About rd734467

I am a seeker. A doer. An encourager. One who loves. One who longs to be loved. One who desperately yearns to make a difference in this world.
This entry was posted in Limping After Christ. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

