Who will go deep?

Who will go deep with me?

Prompted by a short reading on contemplation, this question is almost, but not quite, a cry of desperation.  Who will go deep with me?  Who will care enough to really know me, and trust me enough to let themselves be truly known?

I ask this in a world of superficial, fast-paced, hype and drama filled relations.  I am not even speaking of relationships with the opposite sex.  I am speaking of deep friendship, friends that I will still be walking through life with when I am eighty.  I want to go deep with people.  Not everyone, and certainly not just anyone.  I want a small, close group of friends who will confront me when they see me doing things I should not.  Who will challenge me, challenge my ideas, challenge my lifestyle.  Who will push me to be better, to love God more, to see my commitments through, to walk every day closer to Jesus.

Who will go deep with me?

About rd734467

I am a seeker. A doer. An encourager. One who loves. One who longs to be loved. One who desperately yearns to make a difference in this world.
This entry was posted in Limping After Christ. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who will go deep?

  1. Ben says:

    I know the feeling. I made some great life long friends at SAU but now I’m looking at 2 or 3 years out of state with no close friends. It’s hard to maintain those real close friendships when I’m three hours away let alone three states.

    Good luck finding those special somones that remind you that life isn’t so bad. You’re an amazing person so I have no doubt that it will happen, just give it some time. And I know you know that so hang in there.

    I’m always around if you ever just want to talk, deep, superficial or anything in between.

Leave a Reply

