Loving the Word of God

God is good.

Yahweh God, Jesus Christ, the Holy Spirit, is good.  I love him.

Last summer was hard.  Emotionally and spiritually.  Life started fraying at the edges.

At the beginning of the school year, in one of my classes we wrote down what we wanted God to do in our life that semester.  I do not remember exactly what I wrote (but I have the paper back home somewhere).  It was something like, “I want to see Scripture, God’s word, in a new light.”  I wanted to truly understand the Bible as the Word of God, life giving, uplifting, speaking to my heart.  I hoped that would happen through the class, Pentateuch.  I wanted that to happen as I read my Bible, as I sought God in a semi-daily fashion.

It did not happen.  I never completely forgot about the paper and my desire, but it was pushed from my mind.  Every so often I would come across the piece of paper, feel a twinge of disappointment, and then move on with whatever task I was working on.  The Word was not coming alive to me.

The Word was dead to my soul.  Then, an amazing thing happened this summer.  As I began to discipline myself to read Scripture daily, with a goal in mind, and to reflect and journal about it as well, it began to speak to me.  I read familiar and unfamiliar passages, and found that reading Scripture was not the chore it had so often been.  It is enjoyable – I like it!  I am falling in love with God’s Words, deeper than ever before.  Reading Scripture excites me, brings joy, peace, and rest to my spirit.

I see Scripture in a new light.

God is faithful.  God is good.

Amen.

About rd734467

I am a seeker. A doer. An encourager. One who loves. One who longs to be loved. One who desperately yearns to make a difference in this world.
This entry was posted in Limping After Christ and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

