Soundtrack of your mind

What is the soundtrack of your life?

This thought occurred to me as I was exercising several weeks ago.  I had no music on, I was not thinking about anything in particular, and a song started playing in my mind.  A Mumford and Sons song.

“What?  Where did that come from?”  My inner monologue began.

“Well, you have been listening to them rather often lately.  You like their music, for many reasons.  They talk about love a lot, and they are upbeat and fun.”

“Hmm.  These are good things.”

“They are interrupting my inner quiet.  I am CHOOSING to fill my life and time with noise.  With dreams and visions and longings of love and a future life.  I am living in and with this hope.”

“But where is God in all the noise?  He is here.  He is probably even smiling and laughing at me.  But am I neglecting Him?  I want my thoughts, my mind, to drift to Him when I am not thinking of anything in particular.  To be enraptured with Him…this I desire.”

“Will I work for it?  Will I discipline myself to this task?”

Several weeks have passed since I originally wrote this post.  Mumford and Sons has given way to Christopher Tin’s Calling All Dawns, which has tangoed with a Hillsong/Misty Edwards blend.  I still lack inner quiet.  At times, I struggle for it.  Most of the time, I do not even think of it, busy as I am distracting myself from heartache.

What if the solution to the heartache in our lives is not to run from it, as we are so apt to do, but to enter that place of quiet, connect with a Presence, and surrender it to Him?

This I have struggled through, and found to be the answer – quiet time with my Savior, pouring out and offering up my heart.  I find that He cares for me (1 Pet. 5:7).  What a wonderful God!

What is the soundtrack playing in your mind right now?  And how is it distracting from the inner quiet of intimacy with God?

About rd734467

I am a seeker. A doer. An encourager. One who loves. One who longs to be loved. One who desperately yearns to make a difference in this world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Soundtrack of your mind

  1. Anika says:

    “What is the soundtrack playing in your mind right now? How is it distracting you from the inner quiet of intimacy with God?” What thoughts play over and over when your mind has no where else it is demanded to go… Does the inner quiet become the natural result of spending time with God or is it something that must be pursued and sought after? Why does that intimacy ring so true and feel so foreign?

    • rdarling says:

      I think inner quiet is a natural response TO BE sought after, if that makes sense. I don’t think it is our natural response as humans – “what are you saying God? How are You speaking? How can I talk to you right now? How can I get a response from You?” On and on the wheels of my mind roll, until I intentionally place myself in a place of quiet – a walk out in the woods. My bedroom, with the music, computer, even lights off. Trying, sometimes desperately, to be still, to just STOP.

      And sometimes, I will read the Word, or be praying, or worshipping, and have a revelation! Glory! That touch from Daddy quiets my soul almost instantaneously. Much quicker than all my strivings. And it is that – the touch, the Presence of God – that makes inner quiet so attainable, I think.

      What do you think? What are your experiences?

Leave a Reply

