Intention

I wrote this almost two months ago, near the beginning of January.  I never posted it…because I never finished it.  But the thoughts are still relevant.  So, here it is:

I feel the need to blog.  I have not done so in quite some time.  And this is a relatively safe, inconspicuous, and private way for me to dump the whirring thoughts out of my brain.  If God shows me favor, sometimes I am able to make some sense of the mess as I go.

Intention.  This is a word I have claimed is a “life word” of sorts lately.  Almost every time I turn around, I recognize the importance of intentionality in multiple areas of life.  If I am not intentional about my friendships, they tend to fizzle and die off.  If I am not intentional about my faith, I drift away from God.  If I am not intentional about reading, I only read occasionally.  If I am not intentional about time management, the hours and days I am blessed with slowly slip away.  If I am not intentionally eating healthy, I will do what is easy and eat junk.  If my intentionality in exercise is absent, I will sit around all day like a couch potato.  On and on the list goes.

Knowing the importance of being intentional in all areas of life, why am I not more intentional?  I drag my feet, I moan and groan, I blame the actions of others, I bemoan the lack of genuine community that would kick my butt into line, I blame the world, I complain, I do everything but own up to the fact that I am my own worst problem.

And then I blog about it.

Hm.

In order to make this more than the babblings and complaints of one unknown young lady in the mitten state, let me ponder a moment the nature of intention.  Webster’s Dictionary defines intention as “a determination to act in a certain way” and “what one intends to do or bring about”.  The first observation I make is that intention is always related to an action.  I also observe that, in having an intention, one has made up one’s mind to act.  To do something.

Perhaps this is obvious.  My question, then, is this – why do intentions sometimes not lead to action?  What separates those intentions that come to fruition in action, and those which do not?  Why, for example, when I intend to exercise, some of the time I fulfill my intention, and some of the time, I do not?  Or, when I intend to read or study something, sometimes I get right to it…sometimes, it takes me months or years to finally get around to it?

Hm.  There are many different factors which influence our decisions to follow an intention through to action.  Perhaps it is as simple as whether I truly want to do the said action…if I intend to and want to, I do it.  If I intend to, but do not want to, then I do not.

All of this to say, I know that drifting through life without any plan of action, without goals, without specific intentions for my life, is a waste.  It is boring, it is draining, and I would question whether or not to call it life.  A plan, an intention, and related action, this is the way of life.

About rd734467

I am a seeker. A doer. An encourager. One who loves. One who longs to be loved. One who desperately yearns to make a difference in this world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Intention

  1. Anika says:

    True story.

    Yet, is intention the way of life or a way to life? Is it in itself a means to the end or a means to means that lead to the end? Is intention the only way or are there other things that can and do take its place?

    These are the things I think some times, is all… 🙂

Leave a Reply

