Bowling

Last week Highland Park Community Outreach went bowling for its last youth group meeting.  We picked up the few who were interested and could afford the $10 cost of 2 games, pizza, and pop, and soon enough were on our way to the bowling alley in Troy.  Most of the kids did not have much experience with bowling, and needed a few pointers along the way.

The pizza was a big success (what kid doesn’t love pizza?), as were my homemade cookies, sneakily revealed, and hastily devoured, after all the real food was gone.  The second game wrapped up, we turned in our shoes, and happily piled back into the HPCO van for the trip back to the hood.

As I mentioned that I don’t live very far from the bowling alley, Gi, one of the main trouble-makers in youth group, looked at me and exclaimed, “You live up here?”

“Close by, yeah.”

“And you come all this way to see us?”

“Yep.”

Stunned, perhaps a bit baffled, he looked at me a moment, then turned his gaze back out the window.

I did not say anything more, but myself reflected on the power of this little boy’s realization.  Yes, I drive half an hour every week just to hang out, talk about the Bible, and love these kids.  Planting seeds.

Yet another seed was planted in that van, largely without words.  I pray that God gives it growth.

About rd734467

I am a seeker. A doer. An encourager. One who loves. One who longs to be loved. One who desperately yearns to make a difference in this world.
This entry was posted in Limping After Christ. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

