What if His People Prayed?

A post I wrote several months ago but never published.  Apparently I needed this reminder too – my prayer life is abysmal.

The power of the praying Church.  And the reality that at least part of the “Church” does not pray as if the fate of our world depends on us.

It does.

“When I shut up the heavens so that there is no rain, or command the locust to devour the land, or send pestilence among my people, if my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land. Now my eyes will be open and my ears attentive to the prayer that is made in this place. For now I have chosen and consecrated this house that my name may be there forever. My eyes and my heart will be there for all time.”  2 Chronicles 7:13-16

“Do you not know that you are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in you? If anyone destroys God’s temple, God will destroy him. For God’s temple is holy, and you are that temple.”  1 Corinthians 3:16-17

“And when you pray…But when you pray…And when you pray…”  Matthew 6:5-7

The Spirit is moving.  In the past ten years, perhaps more, prayer movements have sprung up around the world.  Young and old Christians alike are rediscovering the discipline of prayer.

New Delhi House of Prayer

24-7 Prayer International

International House of Prayer – Kansas City (and in other parts of the world!)

Ihope Detroit

The Burn

Operation World

These are but the tip of the iceberg, I am sure of it.

In this age of abundant resources, information at the speed of light, more entertainment and leisure activities than we will ever need, will you STOP…and encounter God in the quiet?

Will you connect your heart to God’s?

Will you follow St. Paul’s urging to pray without ceasing?

Questions…Is prayer truly whatever you want it to be, however you best connect to God?  Some people say that they play drums as prayer.  Not that they necessarily pray while they pray, but that they play, and the passion with which they play is a prayer, an offering to God.  And why not, I suppose?  When has God ever said no to a heart passionate for Him to move, no matter how that heart expresses itself?  Perhaps intercession does not have to take place with words.  “In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God.” Romans 8:26-27

About rd734467

I am a seeker. A doer. An encourager. One who loves. One who longs to be loved. One who desperately yearns to make a difference in this world.
This entry was posted in Limping After Christ, Theological Reflections, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

